Security Printing and Minting Corporation of India Ltd.
“Readily Available”
भारत सरकार टकसाल कोलकाता के 60 वर्ष

UNC Price₹6184.00UNC Quantity
In Stock

According to available records, the Calcutta Mint was established in 1759-60. In fact the right to establish a mint was one of the stipulations of the treaty of the East India Company with the then Nawab Siraj-U-Daula, dated 7th February, 1757.

The second Calcutta Mint was established in 1792 at the site of Gillet ship building establishment at Kolkata. About that time, machinery was brought from England, and coins of the modern type, when milled edges began to be struck.

Another Calcutta Mint was opened on 1829 at Strand Road and is presently overlooked by the towering Howrah Bridge, popularly now known as the old Silver Mint.

The present new Mint at Alipore was inaugurated by Shri C.D. Deshmukh, Hon’ble Minister of Finance, Government of India on the 19th March 1952.

With the coinage operations shifting to the new Mint at Alipore, the old Mint at the Strand Road was converted into a Silver Refinery for extraction of Silver and other metals. This Mint was finally closed down on 1985.

This Mint was the first to successfully process pure Nickel for coinage purposes in the continent of Asia.

The present daily average output of coins at the Alipore Mint is approximately 5 to 6 million pieces. In addition to domestic coinage, the Mint has undertaken coinage orders from foreign countries. Beside coinage production, Alipore Mint produces different commemorative and development oriented coins for last several decades and even before. It also worked as a centre for issue of Gold bars in exchange of unrefined gold tendered by licensed dealers.

This Mint has been producing Medals of various types. The well-equipped Medal Department has so far produced using gold, silver, copper, nickel. The medals for defence, educational institutions, social service, badges, tokens etc. production for Medallions for National and International Film Festivals are also the pride of Alipore Mint. This Mint undertakes production of Medals for civilian & military awards instituted by the Government of India such as Bharat Ratna, Padma Shri, Padma Bhushan, Padma Vibhushan, Paramvir Chakra, Mahavir Chakra, Vir Chakra, Shaurya Chakra to name a few.